VN to sets up 16 marine reserves in next five years
17:42 | 27/05/2010
VGP – The Government has just introduced a master planning scheme to set up 16 marine protected areas (MPA) by 2015.

 Cát Bà is one of Việt Nam’s 16 marine protected areas

The system of these MPAs will be developed within the territorial waters and islands under Việt Nam’s jurisdiction.

The VND 460-billion project will be carried out in two phases: the period of 2010-2015 and the following five years.

In the first phase, at least 0.24% of Việt Nam’s sea area belongs to these MPAs and some 30% of each reserve is stringently protected.

In the next period, the MPAs’ area will be expanded and the establishment of some new ones will be taken into consideration.

The Government plans to issue mechanisms to encourage individuals and organizations to invest in building and protecting MPAs.

The future 16 MPAs include Trần and Cô Tô Islands (Quảng Ninh Province), Bạch Long Vĩ and Cát Bà (Hải Phòng), Cồn Cỏ (Quảng Trị), Nha Trang Bay (Khánh Hòa), Núi Chúa (Ninh Thuận), Phú Quý (Bình Thuận), Côn Đảo (Bà Rịa- Vũng Tàu) and Phú Quốc (Kiên Giang).

By Hải Minh

  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address