National ASEAN 2020 Committee convenes third meeting
09:44 | 10/07/2019

VGP – The National ASEAN 2020 Committee convened the third meeting on July 9 to review and assess works that must be deployed since the second meeting of the Committee as well as discuss and orient contents and tasks for the upcoming time. 

Deputy PM, FM Pham Binh Minh chairs the third meeting of the National ASEAN 2020 Committee, Ha Noi, July 9, 2019 - Photo: VGP

Under the chair of Deputy PM, FM Pham Binh Minh, the meeting drew the participation of Minister-Chairman of the Government Office Mai Tien Dung, Minister of Industry and Trade Tran Tuan Anh and representatives of relevant ministries and agencies. 

The third meeting was organized in the context that Viet Nam will officially take over the Chair of ASEAN in 2020 within the next five months. 

Sub-committees presented reports on establishment and implementation of detailed plans on contents, reception, communications-culture, materials-logistics, security-health, organization of meetings and activities for ASEAN Chairmanship in 2020. 

Speaking at the event, Deputy PM Minh urged to urgently launch tasks in the time ahead, especially issues related to topic and priorities of the ASEAN Chairmanship in 2020, scheduled time for the organization of big meetings in 2020, including the 37th ASEAN Summit and other high-level summits with partners. 

He consented with proposals on works to be deployed till the fourth meeting of the Committee (in next September), approved the organization schedule of some key activities for the ASEAN Chairmanship in 2020 and the nomination for the official logo template for the ASEAN Chairmanship in 2020. 

The National ASEAN 2020 Committee is tasked for proposing the PM measures to address issues related to the ASEAN Chairmanship in 2020 as well as helping the PM monitor and guide ministries, agencies and localities in preparations and realization of the role as the Chair of ASEAN in 2020. 

Deputy PM, FM Pham Binh Minh is the Chairman of the Committee. Three Vice Chairmen include Minister-Chairman of the Government Office Mai Tien Dung, Minister of Industry and Trade Tran Tuan Anh, Minister of Labor, Invalids and Social Affairs Dao Ngoc Dung. 

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Nguyen Quoc Dung works as head of the sub-committees for contents and receptions and head of the secretariat. 24 members of the National ASEAN 2020 Committee are leaders from ministries and agencies. 

The Committee consists of five cub-committees of contents, reception, materials-logistics, communications-culture, security-health and secretariat. 

By Thuy Dung


  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address