Master construction plan for HCMC till 2025 revised
16:17 | 08/01/2010
VGP – Hồ Chí Minh City (HCMC) will be converted into a world–class industrial, service, scientific and technical center in the Southeast Asian region.   

The administrative boundaries of Hồ Chí Minh City will be expanded so that the city becomes an advanced urban center of international and regional standards 

The Government chief recently approved the revised master plan for the construction of Hồ Chí Minh City till 2025. As reported by the Ministry of Construction, this is the first master plan of this kind ever made.

By the year, the city is expected to have around 10 million residents and cover 100,000 hectares for urban areas.

HCMC will develop in harmony with its neighboring provinces such as Bình Dương, Bình Phước, Tây Ninh, Long An, Đồng Nai, Bà Rịa–Vũng Tàu and Tiền Giang.

HCMC eyes polycentric expansion          

As planned, the inner city will stretch out within a 15-km radius, paving the way for large-scale and polycentric development.

Covering 49,400 ha with a population of 7.4 million, the development area of the city will consist of the current 13–district downtown and other six new districts, towns and urban centers.

The old downtown will function as an administrative, cultural, tourist and service center. Meanwhile, the six new districts are reserved for modern urban quarters, underground parking lots, scientific-technoligical centers (800 ha in total) and industrial zones.

Besides, the city plans to allocate around 43,600 ha in its outskirts for agricultural production and three ecological belts. 

Hồ Chí Minh City will have a modern railway network to ease the current transport jams – Illustration photo   

Synchronous and modern infrastructure 

In order to develop its transport, the city will upgrade the railway network; build aerial routes; dredge the Lòng Tàu and Soài Rạp Rivers; and develop Long Thành international airport.  

To solve flood-tide, the city intends to build small-scale dikes and sea dikes while upgrading its drainage systems. 

Hồ Chí Minh City will extend in all 4 directions with 4 corridors:

1. The eastern corridor, running along the HCMC-Long Thành–Dầu Dây Expressway, con­nects with Nhơn Trạch, Long Thành and Biên Hòa urban centers;

2. The southern corridor, running along Nguyễn Hữu Thọ road, links urban quarters along this route and the port city of Hiệp Phước.

3. The northwest corridor runs along National Highway 22 and connects with Đức Hòa, Trảng Bàng, and Thủ Dầu Một.   

4. The west-southwest corridor along Nguyễn Văn Linh Road links urban quarters in the southern part of the city.

By Hương Giang 


  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address