CPVCC to cast vote of confidence on Politburo, Secretariat members
18:25 | 25/12/2018
VGP  - The Communist Party of Viet Nam Central Committee (CPVCC) will cast vote of confidence on members of the Politburo and the Secretariat, said Party General Secretary and State President Nguyen Phu Trong.

The 9th plenum of the 12th Party Central Committee

Infographics: Results of vote of confidence on Cabinet members

The Party chief made the above statement at the opening session of the 9th plenum of the 12th Party Central Committee in Ha Noi on Tuesday.

At present, the CPVCC Politburo and the Secretariat have 24 members but the Party Central Committee will only cast confidence votes on 21 as Politburo member Dinh The Huynh was allowed to leave the post of standing member of the CPVCC Secretariat for long-term illness treatment while Tran Cam Tu – Chairman of the CPVCC Inspection Commission and Tran Thanh Man – President of the Central Committee of the Viet Nam Fatherland Front have been newly elected to the Secretariat.

According to the Party’s current regulations, vote of confidence shall be carried out in the 3rd year of each Party tenure at all levels.

The results of vote of confidence shall serve as the basis for future promotion considerations.

Those who gain above 50 percent of low confidence votes should be out of consideration for higher positions and may be considered for another proper positions.

Those who gain more than two thirds of low confidence votes should be considered to relieve from their posts.

Party leader Trong stressed the vote of confidence will help the Politburo to have more information in evaluation and appointment of cadres, thus contributing to strengthening the contingent of high-level cadres to meet requirements of new tasks in the new revolutionary period.

During the two-day meeting, the members of the Party Central Committee also discuss on the personnel planning of the CPVCC for the 2021-2026 tenure, giving comments on a review report on the leadership and instruction of the Politburo and Secretariat in 2018, and considering disciplinary measures against officials in line with the Party’s regulations.

Earlier on October 25, the National Assembly also conducted vote of confidence on 48 high-ranking officials elected or approved by the Legislature, including Politburo member, Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Politburo member, Deputy Prime Minister Truong Hoa Binh, Politburo member, Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Pham Binh Minh, and Politburo member, Deputy Prime Minister Vuong Dinh Hue./.

By Quang Minh

  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address