ASEAN to consider EU’s request to join East Asia Summit
17:52 | 30/11/2017
VGP – Viet Nam will work with other ASEAN member States to consider the European Union’s request to officially become a member of the East Asia Summit, according to Foreign Ministry’s Spokesperson Le Thi Thu Hang.

East Asia Summit is a forum held annually by leaders of 16 countries, including ten ASEAN member States, Australia, China, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea and New Zealand.

It was expanded to 18 countries, including the United States and Russia in 2011.

Further expansion of the forum will be decided on the basis of ASEAN consensus.

Hang said the relations between ASEAN and the EU have positively advanced in all areas and Viet Nam highly values the EU’s commitment to further enhance cooperation with ASEAN in general and with Viet Nam in particular.

Viet Nam also expects the EU would continue making more positive contributions to the ASEAN-led mechanisms, thus contributing to cooperation and development and maintain peace, security and stability in the region./.

By Kim Anh

  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address